External Advisory Committee

Dr. Robert S. Fujinami

Professor of Pathology
University of Utah School of Medicine

Dr. Robert (“Bob”) S. Fujinami is Professor of Pathology and Adjunct Professor of Neurology at the University of Utah School of Medicine in Salt Lake City.  Dr. Fujinami is a leader in the fields of viral immunology and neurovirology. He has served and continues to serve on a large number of editorial boards of leading journals in virology, immunology and neurosciences and national panels and study sections for major granting agencies such as NIH, Multiple Sclerosis Society, National Science Foundation, United States Army Medical Research and Military Command, the World Health Organization, etc.  His laboratory has been funded continuously for more than thirty-years by NIH and major granting agencies and has given insights into the complex interactions of viral pathogens with the immune system and the central nervous system.

Dr. Charles Wood

Director, Nebraska Center for Virology 
Lewis Lehr/3M University Professor
University of Nebraska

Dr. Charles Wood is the Lewis Lehr/3M University Distinguished Professor, School of Biological Sciences, Biochemistry and Biotechnology Center and Director, Nebraska Center for Virology at the University of Nebraska, Lincoln, Nebraska.  He is also a Special Professor of Life Sciences at Nankai University in China.  Dr. Wood is a leader in the investigation of HIV/AIDS and AIDS- associated diseases and malignancies, especially Kaposi’s sarcoma associated with HIV clade C infections in Africa.  He serves and has served on more than two dozen national and international panels and study sections and editorial boards and has lectured at universities around the globe.  His research has been funded by a variety of major grants from NIH.

Dr. Cheng-Ming Chiang

Simmons Comprehensive Cancer Center
Department of Pharmacology and Department of Biochemistry
University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center

Dr. Cheng-Ming Chiang is Professor at the Simmons Comprehensive Cancer Center, Department of Pharmacology and Department of Biochemistry, University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center. Dr Chaing is a leader in field of transcripitonal regulation, post-translational modification of transcription factors, the role of chromatin in transcription, and regulation of gene expression in human papillomaviruses and other viruses.  He is well funded by the NIH, serves on study sections for the NIH and other agencies, and is active in teaching and mentoring.

Former External Advisory Committee 

Internal Advisory Committee

Dr. D. Neil Granger

Boyd Professor and Head,
Department of Molecular and Cellular Physiology
LSU Health Sciences Center

Dr. Granger is an internationally respected cardiovascular physiologist who has received many honors and awards for his research contributions. He directs a major NIH Program Project Grant and has extensive research expertise in inflammation, cardio-physiology, and endothelial cell function. For more information on Dr. Granger, please visit the Department of Physiology website.

Dr. Glenn Mills

Professor and Vice Chairman of Medicine
Director, Clinical Research and Aerodigestive Malignancy Program
Chief, Section of Hematology and Oncology
Program Director of Hematology/Oncology Fellowship
Director, Feist-Weiller Cancer Center

As a member and as Director of the Feist-Weiller Cancer center, Dr. Mills has led efforts for cancer prevention and education activities, as well as inclusion of minorities in cancer research and clinical trials. Dr. Mills has been the principal investigator of more than 300 clinical trials that have brought millions of research dollars into LSU Health Shreveport. A member of the Coalition for a Tobacco Free Louisiana, he serves on the executive committee and Residency Review Committee for Internal Medicine for the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education, and is on the Board of Governors for the Southwest Oncology Group.  For more information on Dr. Mills, please visit the FWCC website.

Dr. Robert E. Rhoads

Professor and Head,
Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
LSU Health Sciences Center

Dr. Rhoads is a highly respected biochemist who has made seminal discoveries about the initiation events of protein synthesis. He directs a major NIH-supported program that concerns protein synthesis, translation factors, and the inhibition of protein synthesis by Picornaviral proteases and interferons. For more information on Dr. Rhoads, please visit the Department of Biochemistry website.